Sources for “Homeward Bound”

Return to the sources index

Reference in text Source – name Source – details Source – link Retrieved on
MDF uses petrochemicals [navigation required] Medium Density Fibreboard (MDF) Health and Safety Executive – undated http://www.hse.gov.uk/woodworking/faq-mdf.htm 12/21/2015
Strawbale houses Super-efficient straw-bale houses hit the market in the UK—piglets need not apply Inhabitat – Sep 2015 http://inhabitat.com/super-efficient-straw-bale-houses-hit-the-market-in-the-uk-piglets-need-not-apply/ 12/23/2015
Passive houses Passivhaustrust – the UK Passive House Organisation Website http://www.passivhaustrust.org.uk/ 12/23/2015
Oil miles of clothes Analysis: Do clothes miles matter? Just Style – Mar 2007 http://www.just-style.com/comment/do-clothes-miles-matter_id96793.aspx 12/21/2015
Scandinavian proverb “There’s no such thing as bad weather, only bad clothes” Life in Norway [blog] – undated http://www.lifeinnorway.net/2013/11/no-bad-weather-only-bad-clothes/ 12/21/2015
Qmilch and other fashionable sustainable materials Beautiful eco-friendly fashion made from things like milk, coconut and cork Wabi Sabi – Mar 2014 http://www.wabisabi.com.es/blog/ecofriendlyfashion/wear-it-or-eat-it-beautiful-and-eco-friendly-fashion-is-being-made-from-things-like-milk-coconut-and-cork/ 12/21/2015
Recycling cotton and waste management systems 5 New Solutions For The Fashion Industry’s Sustainability Problem FastCo – Feb 2016 http://www.fastcoexist.com/3055925/5-new-solutions-for-the-fashion-industrys-sustainability-problem 2/2/2016
Detergents vs soap Soaps & Detergents: Chemistry (Surfactants) American Cleaning Institute – undated http://www.cleaninginstitute.org/clean_living/soaps__detergents_chemistry_2.aspx 12/21/2015
466,000 barrels of oil (26,800 homes heated) If every household in the US replaced just one bottle… Seventh Generation via Facebook – Nov 2010 https://www.facebook.com/SeventhGeneration/posts/169486369737169?stream_ref=5 12/21/2015
palm oil farming – fires Indonesia’s forest fires: everything you need to know The Guardian – Nov 2015 http://www.theguardian.com/sustainable-business/2015/nov/11/indonesia-forest-fires-explained-haze-palm-oil-timber-burning?CMP=ema-1706&CMP= 12/7/2015
palm oil farming – danger to wildlife What is Palm Oil? Urangutan Project – website http://www.orangutan.org.au/palm-oil 12/7/2015
75% of us wash our clothes when they no longer smell like laundry products Eco laundry habits are about more than sustainable washing machines The Guardian – Oct 2014 http://www.theguardian.com/sustainable-business/behavioural-insights/2014/oct/09/eco-laundry-sustainable-washing-machines?CMP=new_1194 12/21/2015
90% of energy used to wash clothes is used to heating the water 19 free energy saving tips Uswitch – undated http://www.uswitch.com/energy-saving/guides/free-energy-saving-tips/ 12/21/2015
Water companies use 5% of running costs on energy Severn Trent Plc Annual Report and Accounts 2015 Severn Trent – 2015 https://ar2015.severntrent.com/assets/pdf/GroupFinancialStatements.pdf 12/3/2015
Water companies use 3% of the UK’s energy Renewable energy potential for the water industry The Environment Agency – Dec 2009 https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/291637/scho1209brof-e-e.pdf 20/09/2016
Paracetamol is made from… Paracetamol (Acetaminophen) Imperial College – Aug 2006 http://www.ch.ic.ac.uk/rzepa/mim/drugs/html/paracet_text.htm 12/21/2015
Aspirin in made from… 100 Years of Aspirin Aspirin Foundation – undated http://www.aspirin-foundation.com/history-of-aspirin/100-years-of-aspirin/ 12/21/2015
Prosthetics from PET bottles Plastic Soda Bottle Prosthesis Instructables – undated http://www.instructables.com/id/Plastic-Soda-Bottle-Prosthesis/ 12/21/2015